top of page

Sugru review !!!

I've known about Sugru for a while, but didn't have an application for it until recently. The band from my Suunto watch broke and I could either try to repair it or purchase a new Suunto strap and band set (the smaller band is not sold separately). Since Sugru was cheaper than a new Suunto strap, I tried it out. I wrapped Sugru around the original band and gave it 24 hours to cure. It worked well, and I haven't had any problems with it since then. Even though the band is still broken, the Sugru attached to it and holds the band in place over the strap. I would recommend Sugru for many different kinds of repairs, but it's not perfect. Here is my opinion on Sugru's strengths and weaknesses. Pros: * Easy to work with * Strong and long lasting * Lots of applications * Comes in various colors Cons: * Short shelf-life. Depending on how you store it, Sugru will be usable for around 6 months sealed in its package. This makes it difficult to buy the right amount of Sugru for your application. Since repairing my watch, I searched for other things to repair. While I found a few others, I don't know if I will end up using all of it, which means it will go to waste. * Can't save leftover Sugru. Once you open a package, you have to use all the Sugru. * Expensive. This is especially true if you end up wasting some of the Sugru for lack of projects. * Stiffer than you might think. Many of the suggested uses imply that you can add Sugru to handles and knobs to provide cushioning. However, cured Sugru is rather hard and has little give. That makes is good for some situations (repair a watch band), but not so great for others (cushion the inside of a scissor handle). * Heavier than you might think. Sugru is fairly dense so it adds noticeable weight to repairs. I particularly noticed this when I used it to seal the wires of a set of earphones I fixed (re-soldered the wires). * Not sticky or "grippy". I applied some leftover Sugru to the bottom of a USB hub thinking it would help keep the hub from slipping, but it had little effect. So far, I've used Sugru to: * Repair a watch band (effective use of Sugru). * "Cushion" the inside handle of a pair of scissors (did not provide cushioning). * Provide cushioning under a glass tabletop (worked very well) * Seal wires of a repaired set of earphones (effective seal, but added considerable weight and stiffness) * Keep an old iPhone USB plug from breaking any further (worked well) * Add rubber feet to a USB hub to prevent slipping (did not provide noticeable grip)

Score : 8/10

Link : https://www.amazon.com/Sugru-Moldable-Glue-Classic-Multi-Color/dp/B008URBC9I/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

Price : 20.32 Dollars .

Recent Posts
Archive
Some tags
bottom of page